Uganda land map

September
17

Uganda

Awareness raising through energy monitoring

Two volunteers (students) have under the supervision of BBM installed digital electricity meters in eight catholic hospitals in Uganda. The evaluation helps hospitals to save energy and shows the profitability of existing solar power systems.

In the installed electricity meters the technicians of BBM integrated a data storage which plots the consumption of power. Financier is DKA (Dreikönigsaktion). The target of the project was to offer the technicians of the hospital a possibility to overview the electric systems and to recognize and correct diverse problems early. In a few hospitals this power monitoring system was used earlier. In this way a comparison with the data was possible in the latest years.
In addition, the staff were interviewed on site. The target was to find out the energy consumption for the near future. From information about the actual energy consumption and the planned future development, the BBM calculated a load profile. The basis to this is a strategic development plan for the next five years. The aim of the project was, on the one hand, to raise awareness of the actual electricity consumption and to find potential savings. On the other hand, to determine the investment costs for a partial or complete power supply using photovoltaics (PV). The results of this study were passed on by the BBM to the hospitals and their umbrella organization in order to be able to react to the savings potential found and to convince potential donors of the sensibility of new investments in this area.

FACTS TO THE PROJECT:
  • Project partner:
    8 Hospitals in Uganda
    e.g.: St. Joseph Hospital Kitgum
  • Donor:
    DKA (Dreikönigsaktion)
  • Implementation location:
    Kitgum, Uganda
  • Project time frame:
    02/2018 – 12/2018

St. Joseph’s Hospital Kitgum, Uganda

Example:
St. Joseph’s Hospital in Kitgum

The load profile of St. Joseph’s Hospital in Kitgum shows that around 25% of the total electricity requirement (orange area in the diagram) is already covered by the PV system installed in 2017. The remaining approx. 75% (gray area in the diagram) – depending on availability – is provided by the power grid or a diesel generator. Another result of the study was that there is a relatively large potential for savings by switching off devices that are not required, as well as by replacing traditional lamps with economical LED lights. This is especially true in the evening and night, when there is no solar energy available to reduce the electricity required from the grid or a diesel generator. It was also determined what additional solar power would be required to cover the hospital’s electricity needs as fully as possible in the future with solar power. The installation of another PV system with 25 kWp is expected to be carried out as early as 2019 to 2020. According to this calculation, the solar power will then be able to cover around 40% of future electricity needs.

Comments are closed.

Uganda-Karte

September
17

UGANDA

BEWUSSTSEINSBILDUNG DURCH ENERGIEMONITORING

Zwei Freiwillige (Studenten) haben unter Aufsicht des BBM digitale Stromzähler in acht katholischen Spitälern in Uganda eingebaut. Deren Auswertung hilft den Krankenhäusern Strom zu sparen und zeigt die Sinnhaftigkeit (Rentabilität) von bestehenden wie geplanten Solarstromanlagen.

In die verbauten Stromzähler integrierten die BBM-Techniker einen Datenspeicher, der den Stromverbrauch aufzeichnet. Finanzier der digitalen Stromzähler ist die DKA (Dreikönigsaktion). Ziel des Projektes war es den Technikern der Spitäler eine Möglichkeit zu bieten ihre elektrischen Systeme zu überwachen und bei Bedarf etwaige Probleme frühzeitig erkennen und korrigieren zu können. In einigen Spitälern benutzte man bereits zu einem früheren Zeitpunkt ein solches Energie-Monitoringsystem. Dadurch wurde ein Vergleich mit den Daten aus den vergangenen Jahren ermöglicht.
Zusätzlich fanden Befragungen des Personals vor Ort statt. Ziel war es, dadurch den zukünftigen Energieverbrauch zu eruieren. Aus den gewonnenen Informationen über den aktuellen Energiebedarf und der geplanten zukünftigen Entwicklung, errechnete der BBM ein Lastprofil. Basis dazu bildeten die strategischen Entwicklungspläne der nächsten fünf Jahre. Ziel des Projektes war es zum einen, mehr Bewusstsein für den tatsächlichen Stromverbrauch zu schaffen und Einsparungspotentiale zu finden. Zum anderen, die Investitionskosten für eine teilweise oder vollständige Stromversorgung mittels Photovoltaik (PV) zu ermitteln. Die Ergebnisse dieser Studie übergab der BBM den Krankenhäusern und deren Dachverband, um auf gefundene Einsparungspotentiale reagieren zu können, sowie um potentielle Geldgeber von der Sinnhaftigkeit neuer Investitionen in diesem Bereich zu überzeugen.

FACTS ZUM PROJEKT:
  • Projektpartner:
    8 Spitäler in Uganda
    Bsp.: St. Joseph Hospital Kitgum
  • Spender:
    DKA (Dreikönigsaktion)
  • Implementierungsort:
    Kitgum, Uganda
  • Projektzeitrahmen:
    02/2018 – 12/2018

St. Joseph’s Hospital Kitgum, Uganda

Beispiel:
St. Joseph’s Hospital in Kitgum

Im Lastprofil des St. Joseph’s Hospital in Kitgum ist zu sehen, dass bereits etwa 25 % des gesamten Strombedarfs (orange Fläche im Diagramm) durch die 2017 installierte PV-Anlage gedeckt werden. Die übrigen ca. 75 % (graue Fläche im Diagramm) werden – abhängig von der Verfügbarkeit – vom Stromnetz oder einem Dieselgenerator bereitgestellt. Ein weiteres Ergebnis der Studie war, dass es ein relativ großes Einsparungspotential durch das Abschalten von nicht benötigten Geräten, sowie durch den Tausch von traditionellen Leuchtmitteln auf sparsame LED-Leuchten gibt. Dies gilt besonders in den Abend- und Nachtstunden, wo keine Solarenergie zur Reduktion des Strombedarfs aus Netz oder Diesel-Generator zur Verfügung steht. Es wurde zudem ermittelt, welche zusätzliche Solarleistung nötig wäre, um in Zukunft den Strombedarf des Krankenhauses tagsüber möglichst vollständig durch Solarstrom zu decken. Die Installation einer weiteren PV-Anlage mit 25 kWp wird voraussichtlich bereits 2019 bis 2020 durchgeführt werden. Der Solarstrom wird dann laut dieser Berechnung etwa 40 % des zukünftigen Strombedarfs decken können.

Comments are closed.