St. Francis Hospital - Marial Lou

August
12

Preliminary:

St. Francis Hospital in Marial Lou is the major hospital in the region. The hospital has changed their activities from an emergency hospital to become a permanent hospital for the surrounding communities. And also the number of patients has constantly increased over the last years.

The handed over structures from MSF (Médecins sans Frontières) are all non- or semi-permanent structures. The life span of such structures is normally between 3 to 15 years. Within this period, all buildings must be renewed or renovated.

The existing operating theatre is a non-permanent structure using mud bricks as walls and inadequate floor, ceiling and roof constructions. Open windows are the only ventilation system.
It is not possible to fulfil minimum hygienic standards with this situation.

 

Proposed technology for new operating theatre:

The new operating theatre is planned based on international hygiene standards and norms. The major technical aspects are:

 

Patient handling cycle:

There is a separate patient handling cycle which allows

  • the preparation of the patient (pre-operation)
  • the proper operation in the operating theatre
  • to keep the patient for some time in the recovery / ICU room (post operation)
  • and finally to move the patient to the ward through the exit room

 

Staff cycle:

  • separate entrance for staff
  • shower and washing basins
  • staff room
  • transfer room
  • separate entrance to operating theatre

 

Equipment / Material cycle:

  • including scrubs / wash up
  • transfer room
  • sterilization room

 

High quality building standard:

The building has basically two different sections: one is the centre with air condition and all other rooms are with natural air flow. The walls are made of burnt clay bricks (Uganda clays) isolation from the outside heat. The cold part of the building is made out of double walls in order to keep the cold inside the rooms. All floors are with special floor tiles and the walls with wall tiles. The inner height of the operating theatre room is 3 mts standard height in order to keep space for the special installations and head lamps.

 

Roof – partly a flat roof

The flat roof covers the higher part starting from the preparation room until the exit room. All auxiliary rooms are covered with a high quality corrugated iron sheet. Photovoltaic panels are covering the flat roof fully for supplying power to the cooling unit as well as the operating theatre battery system. Doors and windows: from Europe for a perfect closing and air tightness

 

Operating theatre ventilation system:

European standard ventilation system for operating theatre. The air pressure inside the operating theatre rooms is controlled and excess pressure does not allow inflow of dust from outside. Photovoltaic system: The proposed operating theatre is fully self-reliant, no need for the generator or any other power generation apart from installed solar array. The system is composed of 14400 WP solar field supplying 3 grid interactive inverters. For larger solar systems that generally supply to AC consumers, it is more efficient to immediately invert the solar power into AC. Therefore we call these systems “AC systems”. AC systems have higher energy efficiency in comparison to other systems. The Grid Inverter directly converts the solar energy into AC. All excess solar power which isn’t used by the AC consumers is used to charge the batteries.

 

Cooling unit:

The operation time in the operating theatre will depend on the scheduled and unforeseen emergencies within the hospital. Technically, electrical energy can only be harvested during sunshine, mainly between 8 am and 5 pm of a day. During this time, PV electrical energy can be used directly (light, ventilation, OP equipment, cooling compressors etc.) or can be kept in an electrical storage = battery. Cooling takes normally a lot of energy and therefore in the concept of this operating theatre, the cooling energy will be kept as cold water in a 5000 lts water storage under the floor of the operating theatre building. Night operations can be done without any need of electrical power for the cooling compressor / air conditioner.

 

Light circuits:

Flicker free lights are foreseen for all rooms (energy saving)

 

Electrical protection circuits:

  • Based on international standards
  • Power is used only from solar
  • Excess power can be used during daytime for instrument sterilization

 

Water and wastewater:

  • Water basins and valves are made out of stainless steel
  • Water is connected to the main hospital water supply
  • Waste water is connected to the main sewer line of the hospital

 

Comments are closed.

St. Francis Krankenhaus - Marial Lou

August
12

Vorbereitungen:

Das St. Francis Krankenhaus in Marial Lou ist das größte in dieser Region. Das Krankenhaus hat sich von einem Notfall-Krankenhaus zu einem permanenten Krankenhaus für die umgebenen Gemeinden verwandelt. Aber auch die Nummer der Patienten ist über die letzten Jahre konstant gestiegen.

Die ausgehändigten Strukturen von „Ärzte ohne Grenzen“ sind nicht- oder halb-permanente Bauten. Die Lebenserwartung von solchen Strukturen liegt normalerweise zwischen 3 und 15 Jahren. In diesem Zeitraum müssen alle Gebäude renoviert oder erneuert werden.

Der existierende Operationssaal ist ein nicht-permanentes Gebäude, in welchem Lehmziegel für die Wände, ungeeignete Böden, Decken und Dach-Bauten verwendet werden. Geöffnete Fenster sind das einzige Lüftungssystem. Mit dieser Situation ist es nicht möglich die mindest-Hygienestandards zu erfüllen.

 

Vorgestellte Technologie für den neuen Operationssaal:

Der neue Operationssaal ist nach internationalen Hygienestandards – und normen geplant. Die größten technischen Aspekte sind:

 

Patienten-Handhabungs-Kreislauf:

Es gibt einen abgetrennten Patienten-Handhabungs-Kreislauf, welcher

  • die Vorbereitung des Patienten (Vor-Operation),
  • die richtige Operation in dem Operationsaal zulässt
  • sowie die Zeit in der Intensivstation (Nachoperation)
  • und zum Schluss die Verlegung auf die Krankenstation über den Ausgangsraum.

 

Angestellten-Kreislauf:

  • Separater Eingang für Angestellte
  • Duschen und Waschbecken
  • Mitarbeiterraum
  • Übergangsraum
  • und separater Eingang in den Operationssaal

 

Ausrüstungs- / Material-Kreislauf:

  • Inkl. Spülung der Instrumente
  • Übergangsraum
  • Sterilisations-Raum

 

Hohe Qualitäts-Baustandards:

Das Gebäude hat grundsätzlich zwei verschiedene Bereiche. Einer ist das Zentrum mit Klimaanlage und alle anderen Räume sind mit natürlicher Belüftung. Die Wände sind mit gebrannten Lehmziegeln (Ugandischer Lehm) von der Außenhitze isoliert. Die kalten Teile des Gebäudes bleiben durch Doppelwände kalt gehalten. Alle Böden sind mit speziellen Bodenfliesen und alle Wände mit speziellen Wandfliesen. Die Innenhöhe des Operationsaal ist die Standardhöhe 3m, damit noch Platz für spezielle Geräte und Kopflampen ist.

 

Dach – teilweise Flachdach:

Das Flachdach bedeckt die höheren Teile startend bei dem Vorbereitungsraum bis zum Ausgangsraum:
Alle Hilfsräume sind mit einem qualitativen Wellblech bedeckt. Photovoltaik-Paneele bedecken das Flachdach vollständig, damit sie genug Energie an die Kühlgeräte liefern können, und auch an das Operationsaal Batteriesystem.

 

Türen und Fenster:

  • sind von Europa
  • perfektes Verschließen
  • gute Luftdichtheit

 

Operationssaal-Belüftungssystem:

  • Europäische Lüftungssysteme für den Operationssaal.
    Der Luftdruck innerhalb der Operationssäle wird kontrolliert und Überdruck verhindert.
  • Eintritt von Staub von außen.

 

Photovoltaik System:

Der vorgeschlagene Operationssaal ist völlig selbstständig, es wird kein Generator oder ein anderer Stromgenerator, abseits von den Solar-Reihen, gebraucht. Das System besteht aus 14400 WP Solarfeldern, die 3 interaktive Netzwechselrichter versorgen. Für größere Solarsysteme, die Klimaanlagen versorgen, ist er besser den Solarstrom direkt in Belüftung (Air-Conditioning=AC) umzuwandeln. Deshalb werden diese Systeme „AC-Systeme“ genannt.AC Systeme haben eine höher Energie-Effizients im Vergleich zu anderen Systemen. Der Netzwechselrichter wandelt die Solarenergie direkt in AC um. Die übrige Energie, welche nicht von Klimaanlagen verwendet wird, wird für das Aufladen der Batterien verwendet.

 

Kühlgeräte:

Die Operationszeit in dem Operationssaal beruht auf den geplanten und den ungeplanten Operation im Krankenhaus. Theoretisch kann die elektrische Energie nur während Sonnenschein verwendet werden, meistens zwischen 8 Uhr früh und 5 Uhr Abends. Während dieser Zeit kann die elektrische Energie direkt verwendet werden (Licht, Lüftung, OP-Ausrüstung, Kühlkompressoren etc.) oder es wird in Batterien aufbewahrt. Das Kühlen beansprucht normalerweise sehr viel Strom, deshalb wird in diesem Konzept die Kühlenergie als kaltes Wasser in einem 5000 l Wassertank unter dem Boden des Operationsgebäudes aufbewahrt. Nachtoperationen können ohne den Gebrauch von elektrischem Strom für Kühlkompressoren /Belüftung gemacht werden.

 

Licht:

Flimmerfreies Licht ist für alle Räume geplant (energiesparend)

 

Elektronische Schutz-Schaltkreise:

  • Basierend auf internationalen Standards
  • Strom wird nur von Solaranlagen benutzt
  • Überschussstrom kann am Tag für Instrumentensterilisation verwendet werden

 

Wasser und Abwasser:

  • Waschbecken und Ventile sind aus Edelstahl gemacht
  • Das Wasser ist an der Wasserversorgung des Krankenhauses angeschlossen
  • Abwasser ist mit dem Abwasserkanal des Krankenhauses verbunden

 

Comments are closed.