Help for Plague-Hospital in Uganda

The Holy Family Hospital Nyapea is located in the district of Zombo in Uganda and exists over 31 years. In cooperation with Eine Weltkreis we want to improve the water and power supply of the hospital.

 

This hospital is one of a few places of the world where patients get regularly medicated. The pest is not exterminated in this area. Furthermore a lot of caesarean sections are carried out as women have very narrow pelvis in this region.

 

Energy supply

Because of the rural location in the West Nile region in the north of Uganda, there is no reliable power and water supply. So far a small single phase solar system supplies the main loads, but for a perfect function it would be necessary to switch to a three phase operation. The present inverter is unable to supply the load peaks. In case of a breakdown the hospital does not have suitable spares. The existing lead acid batteries which are on the limit of their living duration have to be switched very fast. A perfect alternative for the replacement would be new salt water batteries which are perfect for hot climates. Also the duration of living is more than 10 years.

 

Water supply

The existing borehole should be operated with a solar pump to decrease operating costs. Because of troubles in operating the pump system on government compound the hospital was forced to relocate the whole equipment. A new compound was buyed and fenced. The equipment should be installed on a new building where also the emergency generator can be kept. Furthermore it serves as accommodation for the secret service.

 

Bed numbers 139
Occupancy rate in average 78%
Staff 123
Outpatients 19.500 (Sept. 17 – Sept. 18)

 

 Nyapea

Nyapea

Energy management

Uganda

Awareness raising through energy monitoring

Two volunteers (students) have under the supervision of BBM installed digital electricity meters in eight catholic hospitals in Uganda. The evaluation helps hospitals to save energy and shows the profitability of existing solar power systems.

In the installed electricity meters the technicians of BBM integrated a data storage which plots the consumption of power. Financier is DKA (Dreikönigsaktion). The target of the project was to offer the technicians of the hospital a possibility to overview the electric systems and to recognize and correct diverse problems early. In a few hospitals this power monitoring system was used earlier. In this way a comparison with the data was possible in the latest years.
In addition, the staff were interviewed on site. The target was to find out the energy consumption for the near future. From information about the actual energy consumption and the planned future development, the BBM calculated a load profile. The basis to this is a strategic development plan for the next five years. The aim of the project was, on the one hand, to raise awareness of the actual electricity consumption and to find potential savings. On the other hand, to determine the investment costs for a partial or complete power supply using photovoltaics (PV). The results of this study were passed on by the BBM to the hospitals and their umbrella organization in order to be able to react to the savings potential found and to convince potential donors of the sensibility of new investments in this area.

FACTS TO THE PROJECT:
  • Project partner:
    8 Hospitals in Uganda
    e.g.: St. Joseph Hospital Kitgum
  • Donor:
    DKA (Dreikönigsaktion)
  • Implementation location:
    Kitgum, Uganda
  • Project time frame:
    02/2018 – 12/2018

St. Joseph’s Hospital Kitgum, Uganda

Example:
St. Joseph’s Hospital in Kitgum

The load profile of St. Joseph’s Hospital in Kitgum shows that around 25% of the total electricity requirement (orange area in the diagram) is already covered by the PV system installed in 2017. The remaining approx. 75% (gray area in the diagram) – depending on availability – is provided by the power grid or a diesel generator. Another result of the study was that there is a relatively large potential for savings by switching off devices that are not required, as well as by replacing traditional lamps with economical LED lights. This is especially true in the evening and night, when there is no solar energy available to reduce the electricity required from the grid or a diesel generator. It was also determined what additional solar power would be required to cover the hospital’s electricity needs as fully as possible in the future with solar power. The installation of another PV system with 25 kWp is expected to be carried out as early as 2019 to 2020. According to this calculation, the solar power will then be able to cover around 40% of future electricity needs.

New photovoltaic system in St. Josephs Hospital

In spring 2017 BBM received the order to support the St. Josephs Hospital in Kitgum (UGANDA) with the installation of a photovoltaic system.

The unsteady electrical power supply and breakdowns handicapped the hospital work enormously.

On November 28th 2017 the PV system was successfully tested and handed over to the hospital. Already on the following day, a Sunday, from 09:00 a.m. on, the hospital was fed entirely by the PV system. On weekdays the feed-in of the PV will be between 25 and 30 %. A first and important step for a smooth, efficient and economic electrical power supply fort the hospital.

This project was financed by a co-financing of EWK Zell (http://www.ewk-zell.at/)  and the Epiphany mission of the catholic youth (http://www.dka.at/).

 

Technical data:

PV installed: 25.000 Wp

2 inverter modules Aros each 12,5 kW

UPS for solar operation Aros 120 kW bidirectional

Batteries 33x 12V 150Ah C10 of Hoppecke

 

Procurement and logistics by BBM Beschaffungsbetrieb der MIVA

Installation: BBM  and MECS / Gulu

Time of installation: 16 days including earthwork and tests

Ecological Restructuring by the example of St. Luke Hospital

The St. Luke Hospital in Angal, north-west in Uganda, is for 180.000 people the only place, where qualified medical care is possible. But the infrastructure of the hospital is outdated. The income of the “Community Hospital” can hardly pay the regular costs, like salary, power supply, etc.

To make sure that the quality of medical care is safe a restructuring from parts of the hospital was indispensable – implanted by BBM as the general contractor. The restructuring was made in 2 years (2015 – 2016) in the following sectors:

  • power supply:
    • Training of the staff with involvement of other hospitals (best-practise approach)
    • Renovation of power supply and distribution
  • water supply:
    • procurement and installation of a 50m³ panel-tank additional to the outdated water tank
  • wastewater-management:
    • Restructuring of the wastewater Treatment with various Pre-Treatment Units and a constructed wetland (instead of the old lagoon)
    • Storm-Water-Management
  • waste-management:
    • Implementation of waste separation
    • Renovation of the waste bins
    • Training of the staff with involvement of other hospitals (best-practise Approach)
Ecological Restructuring by BBM

The BBM has been implementing ecological restructurings of Hospitals in East Africa since 1995 with donations of donor organizations. Core sectors are ecological power supply, drinking water supply as well as wastewater and waste Management.

However not the implementation but the human is the important aspect. Together with the Project partner and other involved Partners (e.g. the surrounding municipalities) the Project aims defined and realized. An important component of the implementation is the passing on of the Know-How to the local technicians through Workshops, for which also experts from bordering Hospitals are invited. This makes a best-practise exchange within Africa possible and the support of the local Know-How. Furthermore, besides the improvement of the Health care as well as the ecological thought is transmitted

Solar Power for Radio Wa, Uganda

 

Project overview:

Country: Uganda
Task:

 

Solar power supply for

  • Radio Wa Studio, Lira Town (20 kWp)
  • Radio Wa Transmitter, Ngetta (12 kWp)
Responsibilities:
  • Detailed Planning
  • Procurement and Delivery of equipment (PV, batteries, inverter, cables) from Europe
  • Installation of electrical / PV equipment, together with local experts
  • Commissioning
  • Training
Project Partner:

 

DKA

Radio Wa http://radiowa.org

Duration: July 2014 – October 2015

 

For more information, please contact the project manager Manfred Pichler: m.pichler@miva.at

 

 

 

 

St. Mary’s Hospital, Uganda – A major order is realized

Around 4000 people are staying in St. Mary’s Hospital in Lacor, Gulu, Uganda per day-patients, medical staff and visitors. The Hospital has water supply facilities, which get their water from a number of wells.  The waste water is collected by a central sewer system and is going to be poorly cleaned in the wastewater lagoons.  Especially this insufficient preparation of the wastewater requires action.

An efficient waste water preparation is important, because without it, it would be impossible to eliminate the pathogens in the waste water.  Since there is the danger that resistant pathogens get from the groundwater into the drinking water. And because of that cause a disease cycle: The bacteria contaminated water is going to be pumped out of the well and gets like this back in the human body. This cycle should be stopped, so that no water based diseases could expand. The supply with clean water and the access to appropriate sanitation systems are the main challenges in this development cooperation.  The enhancement of sanitation and water supply is an important component in the fight against poverty and the destruction of the environment, which is also said in the Sustainable Development Goals of the UN, as well as in the Laudato Si, the environment encyclical of the pope.

 

Dipl.-Ing. Josef Sperrer, a civilian engineer, planed the order of Horizont 3000 the plants for an improvement of the water supply, the use of rainwater and the preparation of wastewater according to legal requirements.  After solutions were found and the planning was coordinated together with local decision makers, the needed jobs were publicly advertised. The BBM could win this tender as the best and cheapest supplier and was instructed to realize these actions.

High-quality wastewater treatment with overgrown soil filter

So far the wastewater in St. Mary’s Hospital was directly brought to the wastewater lagoons without any preclearing, so that they silted as a result. From now on the wastewater is mechanically cleaned in a sedimentation tank with a usable volume of 300 m³. The sludge, which is settled down in the tank, is going to be pumped away and used for agriculture.

Coarse materials are hold back in the sedimentation tank

The wastewater lagoons clean the water only insufficient. To clean the 200 m³ wastewater per day according to legal requirements an overgrown soil filter with approx. 850 m² patch surface was constructed. This soil filter is a combination of biological sewage plant, trickling filter and a solid reactor.  The wastewater is gets intermittently to the biological level and is sprayed by an extensive laid piping on to the surface.

Underground Rainwater storage tank

In the hospital the rainwater is used for the lab and the washing facilities. For the storage of the rainwater underground tanks per 50 m³ usable volume were built.The plants were built very professional by local experts.

Norbert Demmelbauer: „We have worked with Dominic Ocaka and his employees since years. Because of his great competence, he makes the realisation of this project a lot easier.”

Water supply – Priority: Leak removal

The check at the water supply network showed that around 30 % of the transported drinking water gets lost because of various leaks. Mainly dripping fittings, old sealing but also regular leaks could be found. Alain, an Austrian plumber, trained the local plumbers. From now on local plumbers could do the necessary work themselves.

Completely renewed sanitary rooms

Due to the efficient use of available materials, a sanitation area could be completely renewed. For the first time built in cisterns were used. And also the partly corroded iron pipes were renewed.
The experts of BBM set together with Josef Sperrer new standards for the wastewater cleaning. The newly developed overgrown soil filter can clean large amounts of wastewater with a high quality and is suitable to upgrade insufficient plants.

 

 

Development of hybrid energy management

ASIC (Austrian Solar Innovation Centre) is a research partner of BBM. Within a new project the ASIC could help the BBM for the development of a hybrid energy management to support energy systems.

Especially in developing countries the quality of the power network is not really satisfying most of the time. Failures and fluctuations of the operating parameters make the supply of vital devices, e.g. in a hospital, to a complex task.  As a substitution expensive diesel motors are used. From now on they try to integrate PV plants, which make the power clearly cheaper, into the energy systems. A variety of configurations were tested with simulations, to find out, which is the best combination of PV and diesel generators. A core element was the development of an optimised energy management system regulating the interaction of the individual components during operations and collects at the same time data for an automatic review of the system for the error detection. In the next step the energy management can be integrated into the efficient control system (PLC), because of the knowledge gained. It also can be used in affected areas and plants.

In the meantime this PCMS (Power Control & Monitoring System) is used in two radio stations and one hospital

St. Clare Children’s home

 

Location: Aber, Uganda (Lira Diocese)
Task: Planning and construction of three major buildings and three outbuildings, planning and implementation of infrastructure (water, sewage, energy)
Duration January 2009 to November 2011
Project partner: Seraphisches Liebeswerk (SLW) of the Capuchin and Lira Diocese

 

BBM was commissioned by SLW with the planning, the coordination of construction and installation of all technical equipment. A BBM staff member from Uganda was responsible for supervising the local construction and the on-site coordination of companies. BBM experts from Austria supervised the progress of work via regular business trips to the project.

First, the relevant plot of land was purchased, cleared and fenced-off. Additionally, an access road to the building site had to be created. Next, a well was dug, feeding a 20,000-litre water tank via a solar-powered pump. Three main buildings were constructed: the accommodations for girls and boys, each with 108 beds and a central service building with assembly hall, kitchen and offices. There were three outbuildings: a sisters’ house and two guest houses for short-term or long-term guests. All rooms were furnished and included complete plumbing and electrical installations. BBM were also responsible for landscape development and the creation of access roads.

Ecological Concept

The complex of buildings in St. Clare was constructed according to an overall ecological concept. Greywater from hand washbasins, showers and sinks is treated in a horizontal soil filter and reused in water-efficient flush toilets. Rainwater is collected in two 20-foot containers and used amongst others for laundry. Blackwater is collected in a three-chamber plant, pre-cleaned and fed via a solar pump to a two-tiered constructed wetland, at which the second soil filter (size: approximately 100sqm) is fed by a mechanical lifting mechanism entirely without the use of electricity. The treated wastewater is collected in a tank and used for the irrigation of the plantations and green spaces.

Sensor lights with integrated motion detectors and energy-saving lamps reduce energy consumption. Various photovoltaic systems provide the electricity for all three pumps, the emergency lights within the buildings, the street lamps and three freezers. Twelve solar heating systems with a 300-liter tank provide hot water for showers, sinks and washing.

 

 



Archives by Month:


Archives by Subject:


Archives by Year:

  • 2020
  • 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015

Hilfe für Pestspital in Uganda

Das Holy Family Hospital Nyapea liegt im Bezirk Zombo in Uganda und existiert seit über 31 Jahren. Im Auftrag von Eine Welt Kreis wollen wir die Wasser- und Energieversorgung dieses Spitals verbessern.

 

Dieses Spital ist einer der wenigen Orte auf der Welt, wo noch regelmäßig PestpatientInnen in Behandlung sind. Die Pest ist in diesen Breiten noch nicht zur Gänze ausgerottet. Im Spital werden auch viele Kaiserschnitte durchgeführt, da die Frauen in der Region sehr enge Becken haben und es regelmäßig zu Problemen bei der Geburt kommt.

 

Energieversorgung

Aufgrund der ländlichen Lage in der West-Nil-Region Nordugandas ist keine zuverlässige Strom- und Wasserversorgung gegeben. Bisher unterstützt ein kleines einphasiges Solarsystem die Hauptlasten, aber für eine einwandfreie Funktion wäre es dringend notwendig, das System auf einen Dreiphasenbetrieb umzurüsten. Der vorhandene Wechselrichter ist nicht in der Lage Lastspitzen zu versorgen und hat keine Reserven für eine Erhöhung der Lasten. Im Falle eines Ausfalls verfügt das Krankenhaus über keine Ersatzteile oder andere Mittel, um die Funktion der Solaranlage aufrechtzuerhalten. Die vorhandenen Bleibatterien, die sich am Ende ihrer Lebensdauer befinden, müssen so schnell wie möglich ausgetauscht werden. Eine perfekte Alternative für diesen Ersatz sind neuartige Salzwasserbatterien, die sich besser für heiße Klimazonen eignen und deren erwartete Lebensdauer mehr als 10 Jahre beträgt

 

Wasserversorgung

Das vorhandene Bohrloch soll mit einer Solarpumpe betrieben werden, um Betriebskosten zu sparen. Aufgrund von Schwierigkeiten beim Betrieb der Pumpenanlage auf Regierungsgelände war das Krankenhaus gezwungen, die gesamte Ausrüstung umzusiedeln. Ein neues Grundstück wurde gekauft und eingezäunt. Die Ausrüstung soll dort auf einem neuen Gebäude installiert werden, in dem auch der Notstromgenerator untergebracht werden kann. Außerdem dient es als Unterkunft für den Sicherheitsdienst.

Bettenanzahl  139
Belegungsrate  Ø 78%
Personal  123
Ambulante Patienten  19.500 (Sept. 2017-Sept. 2018)

 

 Nyapea

Nyapea

 

Energiemanagement

UGANDA

BEWUSSTSEINSBILDUNG DURCH ENERGIEMONITORING

Zwei Freiwillige (Studenten) haben unter Aufsicht des BBM digitale Stromzähler in acht katholischen Spitälern in Uganda eingebaut. Deren Auswertung hilft den Krankenhäusern Strom zu sparen und zeigt die Sinnhaftigkeit (Rentabilität) von bestehenden wie geplanten Solarstromanlagen.

In die verbauten Stromzähler integrierten die BBM-Techniker einen Datenspeicher, der den Stromverbrauch aufzeichnet. Finanzier der digitalen Stromzähler ist die DKA (Dreikönigsaktion). Ziel des Projektes war es den Technikern der Spitäler eine Möglichkeit zu bieten ihre elektrischen Systeme zu überwachen und bei Bedarf etwaige Probleme frühzeitig erkennen und korrigieren zu können. In einigen Spitälern benutzte man bereits zu einem früheren Zeitpunkt ein solches Energie-Monitoringsystem. Dadurch wurde ein Vergleich mit den Daten aus den vergangenen Jahren ermöglicht.
Zusätzlich fanden Befragungen des Personals vor Ort statt. Ziel war es, dadurch den zukünftigen Energieverbrauch zu eruieren. Aus den gewonnenen Informationen über den aktuellen Energiebedarf und der geplanten zukünftigen Entwicklung, errechnete der BBM ein Lastprofil. Basis dazu bildeten die strategischen Entwicklungspläne der nächsten fünf Jahre. Ziel des Projektes war es zum einen, mehr Bewusstsein für den tatsächlichen Stromverbrauch zu schaffen und Einsparungspotentiale zu finden. Zum anderen, die Investitionskosten für eine teilweise oder vollständige Stromversorgung mittels Photovoltaik (PV) zu ermitteln. Die Ergebnisse dieser Studie übergab der BBM den Krankenhäusern und deren Dachverband, um auf gefundene Einsparungspotentiale reagieren zu können, sowie um potentielle Geldgeber von der Sinnhaftigkeit neuer Investitionen in diesem Bereich zu überzeugen.

FACTS ZUM PROJEKT:
  • Projektpartner:
    8 Spitäler in Uganda
    Bsp.: St. Joseph Hospital Kitgum
  • Spender:
    DKA (Dreikönigsaktion)
  • Implementierungsort:
    Kitgum, Uganda
  • Projektzeitrahmen:
    02/2018 – 12/2018

St. Joseph’s Hospital Kitgum, Uganda

Beispiel:
St. Joseph’s Hospital in Kitgum

Im Lastprofil des St. Joseph’s Hospital in Kitgum ist zu sehen, dass bereits etwa 25 % des gesamten Strombedarfs (orange Fläche im Diagramm) durch die 2017 installierte PV-Anlage gedeckt werden. Die übrigen ca. 75 % (graue Fläche im Diagramm) werden – abhängig von der Verfügbarkeit – vom Stromnetz oder einem Dieselgenerator bereitgestellt. Ein weiteres Ergebnis der Studie war, dass es ein relativ großes Einsparungspotential durch das Abschalten von nicht benötigten Geräten, sowie durch den Tausch von traditionellen Leuchtmitteln auf sparsame LED-Leuchten gibt. Dies gilt besonders in den Abend- und Nachtstunden, wo keine Solarenergie zur Reduktion des Strombedarfs aus Netz oder Diesel-Generator zur Verfügung steht. Es wurde zudem ermittelt, welche zusätzliche Solarleistung nötig wäre, um in Zukunft den Strombedarf des Krankenhauses tagsüber möglichst vollständig durch Solarstrom zu decken. Die Installation einer weiteren PV-Anlage mit 25 kWp wird voraussichtlich bereits 2019 bis 2020 durchgeführt werden. Der Solarstrom wird dann laut dieser Berechnung etwa 40 % des zukünftigen Strombedarfs decken können.

Neue Photovoltaikanlage im St. Josephs Hospital

Im Frühjahr 2017 erhielt der BBM den Auftrag, das St. Josephs Hospital in Kitgum (UGANDA) bei der Errichtung einer Photovoltaikanlage zu unterstützen.

Die unregelmäßige Stromversorgung und -ausfälle erschwerten das Arbeiten im Krankenhaus enorm.

Am 18. November 2017, wurde die PV-Anlage getestet und an das Spital übergeben. Bereits am Folgetag, einem Sonntag, wurde das Spital ab 09:00 Uhr Früh ausschließlich von der PV-Anlage versorgt. Unter der Woche wird der PV-Anteil während des Tages bei 25-30% liegen. Ein erster wichtiger Schritt zu einer reibungslosen, effizienten und kostengünstigen Stromversorgung für das Spital.

Finanziert wurde das Projekt als Ko-Finanzierung vom EWK Zell (http://www.ewk-zell.at/)  und der Dreikönigsaktion der katholischen Jungschar (http://www.dka.at/)

 

Technische Daten:

PV installiert: 25.000 Wp

2 Netzwechselrichter Aros je 12,5 kW

USV für Solarbetrieb Aros 120 kW bidirektional

Batterie 33x 12V 150Ah C10 von Hoppecke

 

Beschaffung und Logistik durch den BBM Beschaffungsbetrieb der MIVA

Installation: BBM  und MECS / Gulu.

Dauer der Installation: 16 Tage mit Erdarbeiten und Tests.

Ökologische Sanierungen am Beispiel des St. Luke Hospital

Für 180.000 Menschen ist das St. Luke Hospital in Angal im Nordwesten Ugandas der einzige Ort, wo qualifizierte ärztliche Betreuung möglich ist, wobei etwa 50.000 Patienten, davon über 15.000 stationär versorgt werden. Aber die Infrastruktur des Krankenhauses ist in die Jahre gekommen. Die Einnahmen des „Community Hospitals“ reichen kaum zur Deckung der laufenden Kosten für Gehälter, Stromversorgung, etc.

Um die Qualität der medizinischen Versorgung sicherzustellen war eine Sanierung von Teilbereichen des Krankenhauses unumgänglich – durchgeführt vom BBM als Generalunternehmer. Die Sanierung erfolgte dabei innerhalb von 2 Jahren (2015-2016) in den folgenden Bereichen:

  • Stromversorgung:
    • Training der Belegschaft unter Einbindung anderer Krankenhäuser (best-practise approach)
    • Erneuerung der Stromversorgung & Verteilung
  • Wasserversorgung:
    • Beschaffung und Installation eines 50m³ Panel-Tank als Ergänzung zu den in die Jahre gekommenen alten Wassertank
  • Abwasser-Management:
    • Sanierung der Abwasserbehandlung mit mehreren Pre-Treatment Units und einer Pflanzenkläranlage (anstelle der alten Lagune)
    • Storm-Water Management
  • Abfall-Management:
    • Einführung einer Mülltrennung
    • Erneuerung der Mülleimer
    • Training der Belegschaft unter Einbindung anderer Krankenhäuser (best-practise approach)

 

Ökologische Sanierungen des BBMs:

Der BBM implementiert seit 1995 mit Spendengeldern von Geberorganisationen ökologische Sanierungen von Krankenhäusern in Ostafrika. Kernbereiche sind eine ökologische Energieversorgung, Trinkwasserversorgung sowie das Abwasser- und Abfall Management. Bei der Implementierung der Projekte steht der Mensch im Mittelpunkt. Es werden gemeinsam, auf Augenhöhe mit dem Projektpartner und den sonstigen involvierten Parteien (z.B. den umliegenden Gemeinden), die Projektziele festgelegt und umgesetzt. Eine wichtige Komponente der Umstrukturierung ist die Weitergabe von Know-How an die lokalen Techniker mittels Workshops, bei welchem auch Experten aus angrenzenden Krankenhäusern eingeladen  werden. Dies ermöglicht einen technischen Best-Practise Austausch innerhalb Afrikas und eine Stärkung des lokalen Know-Hows. Weiteres wird neben der Verbesserung der Gesundheitsversorgung auch der ökologische Gedanke gelebt und weitergetragen.

 

Bald im Einsatz: Michael Dornetshuber

Michael Dornetshuber, langjähriger Mitarbeiter des BBM, geht für einen zweijährigen Einsatz nach Uganda. Entsandt wird er über das Personalprogramm von Horizont3000.

Lesen Sie hier seine Geschichte.

Wir wünschen ihm auf seinem Einsatz Alles Gute!

 

Solarstrom für Radio Wa in Uganda

 

Projekt Überblick:

Land: Uganda
Aufgabe:

 

Solarstrom-Versorgung für

  • Radio Wa Studio, Lira Town (20 kWp)
  • Radio Wa Transmitter, Ngetta (12 kWp)
Verantwortlichkeiten:
  • Detailplannung
  • Beschaffung und Lieferung der Ausrüstung (PV, Batterien, Wechselrichter, Kabel) von Europa
  • Installation von Elektrizität / PV Ausrüstung, gemeinsam mit lokalen Experten
  • Inbetriebnahme
  • Training
Projektpartner:

 

DKA

Radio Wa http://radiowa.org

Dauer: Juli 2014 – Oktober 2015

 

Für mehr Information, kontaktieren Sie bitte den Projektmanager Manfred Pichler: m.pichler@miva.at

 

 

 

 

St. Mary’s Hospital – Ein Großauftrag wird umgesetzt

Im St. Mary’s Hospital in Lacor, Gulu, Uganda, halten sich täglich bis zu 4000 Personen auf – Patienten, medizinisches Personal, Besucherinnen und Besucher. Das Spital verfügt über Wasserversorgungsanlagen, die von mehreren Brunnen gespeist werden. Das Abwasser wird über ein zentrales Kanalnetz gesammelt und in Abwasserteichen notdürftig aufbereitet. Vor allem diese unzureichende Aufbereitung der Abwässer verursachte Handlungsbedarf.

Eine gut funktionierende Abwasseraufbereitung ist deshalb so wichtig, weil es ohne sie unmöglich ist Krankheitserreger im Abwasser zu eliminieren. Sonst besteht die Gefahr, dass resistente Erreger über das Grundwasser in das Trinkwasser gelangen und so einen Krankheitskreislauf verursachen: Das mit Bakterien belastete Wasser wird aus den Brunnen gepumpt und gelangt so wieder in den menschlichen Körper. Diesen Kreislauf gilt es zu unterbinden, damit sich keine wasserbedingten Krankheiten ausbreiten können. Die Versorgung mit sauberem Wasser und der Zugang zu geeigneten Sanitärsystemen gelten als zentrale Herausforderung in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Die Verbesserung der Sanitär- und Wasserversorgung wird sowohl in den Sustainable Development Goals, den nachhaltigen Entwicklungszielen der UN, als auch in Laudato Si, der Umwelt-Enzyklika des Papstes, als wesentliche Komponente im Kampf gegen Armut und Umweltzerstörung gesehen.

 

Das ist der entwicklungspolitische Zusammenhang, in dem der Einsatz des Ziviltechnikers Dipl.-Ing. Josef Sperrer stand. Er plante im Auftrag von Horizont 3000 Anlagen zur Verbesserung der Wasserversorgung, der Nutzung des Regenwassers und zu einer Aufbereitung der Abwässer laut gesetzlichen Anforderungen. Nachdem tragfähige Lösungen gefunden waren und die Planung mit den zuständigen Entscheidungsträgern vor Ort abgestimmt worden war, wurden die erforderlichen Arbeiten öffentlich ausgeschrieben. Der BBM konnte als Best- und Billigstbieter diese Ausschreibung für sich entscheiden und wurde mit der Umsetzung der vorgesehenen Maßnahmen beauftragt.

Hochwertige Abwasserreinigung mit bewachsenem Bodenfilter

Die Abwässer im St. Mary’s Hospital wurden bisher ohne Vorreinigung den Abwasserteichen zugeführt, sodass sie in der Folge verschlammten. Nunmehr werden sie in einem diesen Teichen vorgeschalteten Absetzbecken mit einem Nutzvolumen von 300 m³ mechanisch gereinigt. Der sich in diesen Becken absetzende Schlamm wird abgepumpt und landwirtschaftlich verwertet.

Im Absetzbecken werden Grobstoffe zurückgehalten

Die Abwasserteiche reinigen das Abwasser nur unzureichend. Um die 200 m³ Abwasser pro Tag den gesetzlichen Anforderungen entsprechend zu reinigen, wurde ein bewachsener Bodenfilter mit ca. 850 m² Beetoberfläche errichtet. Dieser Bodenfilter stellt eine Kombination von Pflanzenkläranlage, Tropfkörper und Feststoffreaktor dar. Die anfallenden Abwässer werden dieser biologischen Stufe stoßweise zugeführt und mittels großflächig verlegter Verrohrungen auf die Oberfläche verspritzt.

Unterirdische Regenwasserspeicher

Im St. Mary’s Hospital wird Regenwasser für das Labor und die Waschanlagen verwendet. Zur Speicherung des Regenwassers wurden unterirdische Behälter mit je 50 m³ Nutzinhalt betoniert. Die Anlagen wurden sehr professionell von den lokalen Fachkräften errichtet.

Norbert Demmelbauer:              „Wir arbeiten seit Jahren mit Dominic Ocaka und seinen Mitarbeitern zusammen. Die hohe Kompetenz dieses Partners erleichtert uns die Umsetzung unserer Vorhaben enorm.“

Wasserversorgung – Leckbehebung vorrangig

Die durchgeführten Überprüfungen am Wasserversorgungsnetz zeigten rasch, dass etwa 30 % des geförderten Trinkwassers durch diverse Lecks im Versorgungssystem verloren gingen. Vor allem tropfende Armaturen, alte Dichtungen aber auch herkömmliche Lecks konnten ausfindig gemacht werden. Alain, ein österreichischer Installateur, schulte die vor Ort tätigen Installateure. Nunmehr können die lokalen Handwerker die erforderlichen Arbeiten selbst durchführen.

Sanitärräume komplett erneuert

Aufgrund des sehr effizienten Einsatzes der zur Verfügung stehenden Mittel, konnte auch eine Sanitärstation saniert werden. Erstmals wurden eingemauerte Spülkästen verwendet. Die zum Teil vollkommen korrodierten Eisenleitungen wurden erneuert.

Die Fachleute des BBM haben in Zusammenarbeit mit Ziviltechniker Josef Sperrer neue Standards, vor allem bei der Abwasserreinigung, gesetzt. Der neu entwickelte, bewachsene Bodenfilter ist in der Lage, auch große Abwassermengen hochwertig zu reinigen und eignet sich ideal zur Nachrüstung unzureichender Anlagen.

Aufbau von hybriden Energiemanagement

ASIC (Austrian Solar Innovation Centre) ist ein Forschungspartner des BBMs. Im Rahmen eines gemeinsamen Projektes konnte das ASIC den BBM Austria bei der Entwicklung eines hybriden Energiemanagement für Energiesysteme unterstützen.

Insbesondere in Entwicklungsländern ist die Qualität des Stromnetzes oftmals nicht zufriedenstellend. Ausfälle und Schwankungen der Betriebsparameter machen die Versorgung von teilweise lebensnotwendigen Geräten, beispielsweise in Krankenhäusern, zu einer komplexen Aufgabe. Als Ersatz werden in erster Linie teure Dieselgeneratoren eingesetzt. Gemeinsam wurde nun versucht auch PV-Anlagen, welche den Strom deutlich kostengünstiger erzeugen können, in die Energiesysteme einzubinden. Verschiedenste Konfigurationen wurden mittels Simulation untersucht, um die optimale Zusammenstellung von PV und Dieselgeneratoren herauszufinden. Kernstück war dabei die Entwicklung eines optimierten Energiemanagementsystems, welches das Zusammenspiel der einzelnen Komponenten im laufenden Betrieb reguliert und gleichzeitig Daten für eine automatisierte Überprüfung des Systems zur Fehlererkennung sammelt. Aus den gewonnenen Erkenntnissen kann in einem nächsten Schritt das Energiemanagement in eine leistungsfähige Steuerungsplattform (SPS) integriert und in den betroffenen Gebieten und Anlagen eingesetzt werden. Hierfür ist eine weitere Kooperation der beiden nicht-gewinnorientierten Organisationen beabsichtigt.

Mittlerweile werden dieses PCMS (Power Control & Monitoring System) schon in zwei Radiostationen und einem Krankenhaus angewendet.

Kinderheim St. Clare

 

Lage: Aber, Uganda (Diözese Lira)
Aufgabe: Planung und Errichtung von drei Haupt- und drei Nebengebäuden, Planung und Umsetzung der Infrastruktur (Wasser, Abwasser, Energie)
Laufzeit: Anfang 2009 bis November 2011
Projektpartner: Seraphisches Liebeswerk (SLW) der Kapuziner und Diözese Lira

 

Der BBM hatte vom SLW den Generalauftrag für die Planung, die Bau-Koordination sowie die Installation aller technischen Einrichtungen. Ein ugandischer BBM-Mitarbeiter zeichnete sich für die lokale Bauüberwachung und die Koordination der Firmen auf der Baustelle verantworlich. BBM-Experten aus Österreich betreuten den Fortgang der Arbeiten im Zuge regelmäßiger Dienstreisen zum Projekt.
Zunächst wurde das betreffende Grundstück angekauft, gerodet und umzäunt. Auch eine Zufahrtsstraße zum Baugelände musste angelegt werden. Dann wurde ein Brunnen gegraben. Sein Wasser speist mittels Solarpumpe in einen 20.000-Liter-Tank. Drei Hauptgebäude wurden errichtet: die Unterkünfte für Mädchen und Buben mit je 108 Betten sowie ein zentrales Wirtschaftsgebäude mit Aula, Küche und Büros. Dazu kamen drei Nebengebäude: ein Schwesternhaus und zwei Gästehäuser für Kurzzeit- bzw. Langzeitgäste. Alle Zimmer wurden eingerichtet, Sanitär- und Elektroinstallationen vorgenommen. Auch der Landschaftsbau und das Anlegen von Zufahrtswegen wurde vom BBM übernommen.

Die Anlage in St. Clare wurde nach einem umfassenden ökologischen Konzept errichtet. Grauwasser aus Waschbecken, Duschen und Spülen wird in einem horizontalen Bodenfilter aufbereitet und in wassersparenden Spültoiletten wieder verwendet. Das Regenwasser wird in zwei 20-Fuß-Containern gesammelt und verwendet, zum Beispiel zum Wäschewaschen. Das Schwarzwasser wird in einer 3-Kammer-Anlage gesammelt und vorgereinigt und mittels Solarpumpe zu einer zweistufigen Bodenfilterkläranlage geleitet, wobei der zweite Bodenfilter (Fläche: etwa 100m2) durch einen mechanischen Hebemechanismus und ganz ohne Verwendung elektrischer Energie beschickt wird. Das gereinigte Abwasser wird in einem Tank gesammelt und zum Gießen der Plantagen und Grünflächen verwendet.

Sensorleuchten mit integrierten Bewegungsmeldern und Energiesparlampen reduzieren den Stromverbrauch. Diverse Photovoltaiksysteme versorgen alle drei Pumpen, die Notlichter in den Gebäuden, die Straßenlaternen und drei Gefriertruhen mit Strom. Das Warmwasser zum Duschen, Spülen und Waschen wird in zwölf Solaranlagen mit einem 300-Liter-Speicher aufbereitet.



Archives by Month:


Archives by Subject:


Archives by Year:

  • 2021
  • 2020
  • 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015